Wednesday, December 14, 2005

Landon Snow and the Auctor's Riddle

Anyone thinking about what to get an 8-12 year old for Christmas? Landon Snow and the Auctor's Riddle is a fun new book by R. K. Mortenson. In the tradition of Lewis Carroll's Alice in Wonderland, Mortenson brings his character, Landon, on a zany adventure during a secret night visit to the Button Up Library in Minnesota. It is a fast paced, wacky ride including talking Chess pieces and little elflike creatures called 'Odds'. After Landon's grandfather is rushed to the hospital for an injury, Landon questions why it happened.
"There's no reason," he blurted through his sobs, "for anything!"

He opens the Bible to Joel 2:28 and reads:
And it shall come to pass afterward, that I will pour out my spirit upon all flesh; and your sons and your daughters shall prophesy, your old men shall dream dreams, your young men shall see visions.

A passageway opens up in his room and Landon follows it like all curious cats do. Curiouser and curiouser! Okay, it doesn't say that, but it sounds like what Alice would say in such a situation, no? Anyway, my son, Keegan,10 years old, loved the book. It is fun, silly and helps to answer the riddle:
Could it be chance, mere circumstance
That man eats cow eats grass eats soil
and then man dies, and when he lies
To soil he does return?

To order, click here!

12 comments:

Fred said...

Your'e making it harder and harder to resist picking up one of the books you mention. This one sounds great. I have a 13-year old that loves to read, I wonder if she'd like this?

The Curmudgeon's Rant said...

Great review! I also loved Landon Snow. It didn’t matter than my little ones are too big to be read to, I enjoyed it all by myself. Keep up the great reviews.

M. C. Pearson said...

Fred~ Keegan is my little reader. Even though he is only 10 he has a 12th grade reading level. So, yeah. I think your 13 year old would enjoy it too. I liked it because it has no boring parts and just keeps up...one crazy thing after another. Good stocking stuffer!

Crum~ Thanks bud! I'm off to read your review!

julie said...

I'll look for it for my youngsters and myself.

:)

Rulan said...

You and curm both make me want to buy this book. It sounds like my 10 yr old would love it. Keep up the good work.

M. C. Pearson said...

Julie~ cool! It is a fun and silly ride!

Kid~ Glad to hear it. Yep, my 10 year old sure did!

Jennifer said...

Cool! Now I have three new books to get. Yippee!

Running2Ks said...

What a neat story. I can't wait for my kids to get older and read it!

Jean-Luc Picard said...

Sounds a good story!

Bonnie Calhoun said...

girl friend, you should be a professional reviewer. You're Good!

Jana said...

Hi! Thanks for visiting my blog! You're right, we do have a lot in common!

This book sounds like something my 9 year old would enjoy. I'll have to look for it.

M. C. Pearson said...

Jennifer~ I'm so glad, you'll like 'em!

Running2ks~ I'm sure it will still be around for awhile yet! :-)

Bonnie~ Thank you! You are always so sweet!

Jana~Welcome!!! I'm glad you made it here. Hope your 9 year old loves a silly fun novel!